Copies, Searches & Forms
Filing Fees & Court Fines
Yes. Wills are a part of the Probate records, which are open to the public. You do not need to be a relative nor an interested party to obtain a copy. Copies are $1.00 per page. If you need a certified copy, add $5.00 per document to that fee. You may download and print copies of Probate filings here. [Back to Top]
You may come into our office to obtain a copy or mail a request. Please have as much of the following information as possible when requesting a copy to speed up processing: style of the case, case number and file date. Copies are $1.00 per page. If you need a certified copy, add $5.00 per case to that fee. You may download and print copies of case filings here. [Back to Top]
Our office handles Misdemeanor Criminal cases and these files are open to the public. This means you may obtain a background check on yourself or someone else. There is a $5.00 charge per name searched in our database. [Back to Top]
No, you need to contact the Court Coordinator in the Judge's office. [Back to Top]
County Court at Law hears Civil cases that are worth $500 through $200,000. [Back to Top]
Civil, Probate & Criminal
You may come into our office to obtain a copy or mail a request. Please have as much of the following information as possible when requesting a copy to speed up processing: both applicant's names and marriage date. Copies are $1.00 per page. If you need a certified copy, add $5.00 per document to that fee. To find out the exact cost of the copy, please call or e-mail us. We must have payment in advance in order to make a copy. Marriage Licenses have sensitive, personal information on them. In order to obtain a copy, you must fill out a copy request form located on the forms page. Due to identity theft issues, we must have your name, relationship to the person on the record and your reason for obtaining the copy along with a copy of your Driver’s License.
A Marriage License issued in Texas can be used in any other county in Texas. If a person is married in Orange County, this doesn’t mean their marriage license will be on file in Orange County. If they purchased their license in a different county, then you will have to go to the county they purchased it in to get a copy.
You may also visit the Texas Department of State Health Services web site to obtain a verification of marriage online at this address:
No. A Declaration of Informal Marriage can only be applied for by persons 18 years of age or older. [Back to Top]
A Common Law Marriage Certificate is called a Declaration of Informal Marriage in the County Clerk’s Office. This is applied for in much the same way as a Marriage License, however, you cannot use the Absent Applicant Form when applying for a Declaration of Informal Marriage.
We lost our marriage license before we got married. Can we get another one?
Yes, you may receive a duplicate of your marriage license. The cost will be $12.50. You may not obtain a duplicate marriage license once you've returned the original license to our office for filing (after you're married). At that point, you may only obtain a copy or a certified copy of what we have on file. [Back to Top]
You can get the 72-hour waiting period waived by a judge’s order. If you are in active military or work for the U.S. Department of Defense, the waiting period is automatically waived for you. [Back to Top]
If your divorce decree doesn’t already waive the 30-day waiting period, you will need to get a judge to order the waiver. You automatically do not have to wait 30 days if you are getting remarried to the same person you just got a divorce from. If the waiting period was waived in your divorce decree, please provide a certified copy of your divorce decree for proof. [Back to Top]
Yes, you can use the Absent Applicant Form for the person who is in jail or prison. Refer to this question regarding the Absent Applicant Form. A proxy can only be used at the marriage ceremony if the absent applicant is in the military and stationed in another country. [Back to Top]
Yes, as long as they are a licensed or ordained minister or priest, Jewish rabbi or person authorized by a religious organization to conduct a marriage ceremony. [Back to Top]
You may apply for a marriage license as young as 16 years old. If you are under 18, you must have your parent or guardian with you when you apply. You will need a certified copy of your birth record for identification and your parent or guardian will need some form of State or Federally issued identification as well. Your parent or guardian will be signing a document swearing that they are your legal parent or guardian and that they give their consent for you to be married. [Back to Top]
If one of the applicants is unable to appear when obtaining the marriage license, you will need to fill out the Absent Applicant Form. This form is available on our forms page. This form is to be filled out by the applicant who cannot appear and his or her signature must be notarized. You must present both this form and the absent applicant’s original identification when obtaining the marriage license. [Back to Top]
When should I renew my brand?
Marks and brands must be renewed every 10 years regardless of when you initially apply for them. Everyone has to renew at the same time. The next renewal period will begin September 1, 2021. The filing fee for a brand is $26.00. [Back to Top]
How can I get a copy of my deed?
Please have as much of the following information as possible when requesting a copy to speed up processing: grantee’s name, grantor’s name, file date and physical address (if applicable). Copies are $1.00 per page. If you need a certified copy, add $5.00 per document to that fee. To find out the exact cost of the copy, please call or e-mail us. We must have payment in advance in order to make a copy.
Why don’t you have my relative’s death certificate? They lived in Orange County.
If they passed away within Orange County then the record should be filed with our office. Sometimes a person isn’t actually pronounced deceased until they’ve been taken to a nearby hospital in the next county. If this has happened, then the death record will be filed in that county.
You may also visit the Texas Department of State Health Services web site to obtain a death certificate online at this address: http://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/ovra/ [Back to Top]
Your document must be the original or a certified copy.
There must be a title at the top.
If it’s a Deed, the grantee’s address must be listed.
If it’s a Deed of Trust, the trustee or beneficiary’s address must be listed.
The signatures must be original.
There must be an original notary acknowledgment.
The property must be located in Orange County.
We do not require any extra space at the top or bottom for filing info.
The fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page. [Back to Top]
The only aspect regarding businesses that the County Clerk handles is filing the Assumed Business Name (registering your business name with the County). The Assumed Business Name Forms can be found on our forms page. Beyond that, we don't know what else you need to do regarding starting a new business. The County Clerk does not issue business licenses or permits. [Back to Top]
No, the County Clerk's Office does not keep up with ownership of property. You can contact the Tax Assessor-Collector or the Orange County Appraisal District to find out who the tax payer is. The Orange County Appraisal District has a website that allows you to search property online. [Back to Top]
Civil, Probate & Criminal
Frequently Asked Questions