Courts

Filing Fees & Court Fines

Vitals

Copies, Searches & Forms

General Information

How to obtain a copy of a Marriage License

 

  • To obtain a copy, you may come into our office or send a request by mail.
  • If you send a request by mail, you need to fill out the Copy Request Form completely and send it to us along with payment and a copy of your driver's license for ID purposes.
  • Marriage License copy fees vary, so please contact us to ask about the fee before sending a request.  You may call us at 409-882-7055 or email us at countyclerk@co.orange.tx.us.
  • You may search Marriage License records that are filed with our office by going to Online Records Search here.  The licenses are not viewable online since they contain personal information.

How to apply for a Marriage License

 

Requirements for applying for a Marriage License:

  • Both applicants should come in together when applying.  If one of the applicants cannot make it, they will need to obtain an Absent Applicant Form (see below for more information).
  • You will need an original State or Federally issued ID that shows your date of birth (Driver's License, State ID, etc.) or a certified copy of your birth record.  Your ID or birth record must state your correct, legal name.
  • You need to know your Social Security Number and place of birth, but you do not need to provide proof of these.
  • You must be over 18 years old.
  • The license is $82.00 - no checks accepted.
  • If you are divorced, your divorce must be final for over 30 days before you can apply for a new marriage license (unless you are remarrying the same person you just divorced or if you have a court order waiving the waiting period).
  • There will be a 72-hour waiting period before you can use your Marriage License (unless you are in active military, work for the U.S. Department of Defense or have obtained a court order waiving the waiting period).
  • Texas does not require a blood test to be conducted on the applicants.
  • The Marriage License is valid for 90 days and may be used anywhere in the State of Texas.
  • We issue Marriage Licenses from 8:00 am - 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm; Monday - Friday.  No appointment is necessary.

 

 

If you need to use the Absent Applicant form:

  • The applicant who cannot appear will need to fill out the Absent Applicant Form.
  • This form is to be filled out completely and notarized.
  • When applying for a Marriage License, you must present both this form and the absent applicant's original identification.

 

 

Persons qualified to conduct the marriage ceremony:

  • Any licensed or ordained minister or priest, Jewish rabbi, a person who is an officer of a religious organization and who is authorized by the organization to conduct a marriage ceremony, a judge (for a specific list, see Family Code Sec. 2.202).

 

 

Requirements for applying for a Declaration of Informal Marriage:

  • Both applicants must come in together when applying.  You cannot use the Absent Applicant form.
  • You will need an original State or Federally issued ID that shows your date of birth (Driver's License, State ID, etc.) or a certified copy of your birth record.  Your ID or birth record must state your correct, legal name.
  • You need to know your Social Security Number and place of birth, but you do not need to provide proof of these.
  • You must be over 18 years old.
  • The declaration is $47.00 - no checks accepted.
  • You will need to provide a date that you began living together as a married couple.
  • We issue Declarations of Informal Marriage from 8:00 am - 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm; Monday - Friday.  No appointment is necessary.

Marriage Licenses