Mandatory e-filing is now in effect for all court cases (Civil, Probate and Criminal). If you are an attorney, you must e-file your documents.
To get started e-filing, go to www.efiletexas.gov.
Please refer to the Statewide E-Filing Rules located on the website for the Judicial Committee on Information Technology.
Last updated 01/04/2019 - Download Copy
If you are in doubt about how to file something, please contact our office before submitting it. We will be happy to answer any questions you may have. You can reach us at (409) 882-7055 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Searching E-Filed Cases
The State of Texas now has a single location where you can search and obtain copies from all e-filed cases. Please go to https://research.txcourts.gov/ for more information.
Our case management software is not integrated with the E-File Texas system. If you need to file a document in an existing case, you may receive a message that you are attempting to e-file into a case that has yet to receive an electronic submission. You will need to click "File into an existing case", select the case category and case type, then enter the parties before proceeding. This is a one-time process.
Filing Multiple Documents
You may file multiple documents in a single envelope, but each new document must be a lead document (click "Add Another Filing"). The only documents that should be submitted as attachments should be exhibits to the lead document.
sAll proposed orders must be filed in a separate envelope so they can be forwarded to the court. It will be necessary to have a lead document - your proposed order will be filed as an attachment. You can use a cover letter as your lead document. If the order is to be signed at a hearing, please reference the hearing date on your cover letter. Do not submit your proposed orders more than 72 hours before the hearing date. The envelope containing the proposed order will be forwarded directly to the court for the judge's review and signature. Once the court has completed processing the envelope, it will be returned to the County Clerk for acceptance. Upon acceptance, you will receive a receipt with a file marked copy of the order.
Pleadings that need a hearing date and time entered
Your Notice of Hearing/Setting (or any type of pleading that requires the judge or court coordinator's signature) will need to be filed as a separate submission. You will follow the same procedure as submitting proposed orders.
Applications that require a posted citation
When you file a new probate case, the initial $10.00 posting fee is included in the filing fee. If you file any other documents that require a posted citation (i.e. Application to Determine Heirship) you will need to select a posting fee to cover the extra posted citation. This is under Optional Services and is called "Service - Sheriff - Posting ($10.00)".
Please bring the Proof of Death, Order Probating Will, Oath and Bond with you to the hearing. Do not e-file these documents.
Order to Report Authorization of Court-Appointed FeesPer
Administrative Order, County Court at Law requires an Order to Report Authorization of Court-Appointed Fees to be filed along with any order which authorizes the payment of fees to a court-appointed Attorney Ad Litem, Guardian Ad Litem, Guardian, Mediator, or Competency Evaluator. This applies to all case types. You can find the Order on the Forms page of our website.
Occupational Driver's License
You will need to e-file all paperwork for an Occupational Driver's License, including the Order. The Order must contain a line for the DA's office to sign. Do not put the DA's signature line anywhere but on the Order. Our office will first send the Order to the DA's office for approval. Once approved, we will then forward it to the Judge for approval. Once the Judge has approved the Order, we will furnish you with a certified copy.